



Socialist and social-democratic mayors of the Greater Region stand with Nicolas Schmit

We, the socialist mayors and party representatives of the Greater Region of Lorraine, Luxembourg, Saarland and Wallonia, lend our support to Nicolas Schmit, the lead candidate of the Party of European Socialists for the position of President of the European Commission.

Our history has been scarred by war, which is why our region has always been deeply engaged in the European project from its beginnings.

Europe is a daily reality for the hundreds of thousands of workers in our Greater Region, who cross its borders and benefit from its economic opportunities.

At a time when the towns and cities of our Greater Region are facing huge challenges – deindustrialisation, rising inequalities and the climate crisis – the policies pursued for 25 years by the European conservatives and liberals do not live up to the challenges.

Faced with this, the European socialist family is proposing concrete solutions, rooted in the expectations of our fellow citizens and inspired by our successes in the regions.

Throughout Europe, we Socialists and Social Democrats stand for massive investment in the creation of quality jobs as part of a fair green transition. We stand for SMEs, which are the guarantors of dynamic and sustainable economic development. We stand for youth employment and gender equality in the workplace. We stand for public services and affordable housing accessible to all.

We stand up for democracy and fundamental rights, in Europe and around the world.

As European Commissioner for Jobs and Social Rights, Nicolas Schmit won victories on decent minimum wages, for the rights of platform workers and for job protection in times of crisis.

As President of the European Commission, he will carry forward our vision of a social, ecological and democratic Europe.

On 9 June, let's support Nicolas Schmit by ensuring that the Socialist family emerges stronger in each of our countries.





Mathieu KLEIN, Mayor of Nancy Denis KIEFFER, Mayor of Gibeaumeix Francis HERBAYS, Mayor of Fillières Alde HARMAND, Mayor of Toul Henri CHANUT, Mayor of Seichamps Céline REIN, Mayor of Xonville Anthony CAPS, Mayor of Nomeny Dominique ROUBY, Mayor of Belleville Michel BREUILLE, Mayor of Essey-lès-Nancy Laurent TROGRLIC, Mayor of Pompey Hervé TILLARD, Mayor of Chavigny Stéphane HABLOT, Mayor of Vandoeuvre Christian LOMBARD, Mayor of Moineville Vincent HAMEN, Mayor of Longwy Pascal BARTOSIK, Mayor of Frouard Sébastien DOSÉ, Mayor of Liverdun Bertrand KLING, Mayor of Malzéville Christian FORGET, Mayor of Azelot Robert BOURGUIGNON, Mayor of Ugny Pascal SCHNEIDER, Mayor of Neuves-Maisons Noël GUÉRARD, Mayor of Lesménils Michel LIEBGOTT, Mayor of Fameck Denis BLOUET, Mayor of Corny-Sur-Moselle

Paul MAGNETTE, Mayor of Charleroi and President of PS Belgium

Willy DEMEYER, Mayor of Liège

Nicolas MARTIN, Mayor of Mons

Duygu CELIK, Vice-President of PS Belgium

Anke REHLINGER, President of the Saarland SPD

Dan BIANCALANA, Mayor of Düdelingen, Co-President of LSAP Luxembourg

Manon BEI-ROLLER, Mayor of Dippach

Jacqueline BREUER, Mayor of Sandweiler

Claude MARSON, Mayor of Schüttringen

Sammy WAGNER, Mayor of Steinfort

Tom JUNGEN, Mayor of Roeser

Simone ASSELBORN BINTZ, Mayor of Sassenheim





Jean-Paul DOR, Mayor of Colmen Sylvain HINSCHBERGER, Mayor of Bourgaltroff Jacqueline GLAD, Mayor of Nousseviller-lès-Bitche Jean-Bernard MARTIN, Mayor of Cocheren Vincent MATELIC, Mayor of Rosselange Fabienne MENICHETTI, Mayor of Ottange-Nondkeil Victorien NICOLAS, Mayor of Verny Henri OCTAVE, Mayor of Gandrange Serge WEIL, Mayor of Baerenthal Michel FORTERRE, Mayor of Avrainville Jean-Luc BEVERINA, Mayor of Senone