Rainbow Rose holds online General Assembly

Rainbow Rose holds online General Assembly

Exploiting the fight against COVID-19, right-wing politicians are targeting the LGBTIQ community and their human rights. The fragile progress that has been made recently for the LGBTIQ movement is under real threat from a rollback on rights and attitudes, which could come at any time. This backlash has come in the form of rising hate speech across Europe, often carried out by political figures and governments.

The General Assembly welcomed the support shown for the LGBTIQ community by the PES political family, highlighting two landmark declarations of Rainbow Rose in the PES Presidency. The first focused on the campaign #lovewhereilive that gathered more than 100 cities and regions who declared themselves as LGBTI Freedom Zones, and a second reaffirmed that progressives stand united to promote LGBTIQ rights all over Europe and beyond.

At the General Assembly on 3 July, Rainbow Rose elected its new Board, which will be in post for a two-year term.

President of Rainbow Rose, Camila Garfias – who was re-elected with 100% of the vote – said:

“It is great to see that Rainbow Rose is growing and has a new member structure within PS Portugal now. The importance of protecting LGBTIQ rights all over Europe and beyond is essential in upholding the core values of equality and freedom.  I am proud that Rainbow Rose will continue its fight for a better world in solidarity with our allies and I am honoured to have been re-elected as President.”

PES President, Sergei Stanishev, added:

“I send my congratulations to Camila and everyone who has been elected to the new Board. Rainbow Rose has a strong team to lead the fight for equality across Europe. European values must be protected and reinforced for all citizens. The PES is proud to work in solidarity with Rainbow Rose to ensure that happens. We look forward to continuing this positive cooperation as we work for a fairer, freer and more sustainable Europe for all.”

The new Rainbow Rose team is:

  • President: Camila Garfias (Austria)
  • Vice President: Ian Thomas (GB)
  • Vice President: Carola Ebhardt (Germany)
  • Vice President: Dajana Bakic (Bosnia Herzegovina)
  • Secretary General: Jose Santoro (Spain)
  • Treasurer: Sam van de Putte (Belgium)

Board members:

  • Hannah Grace Carter (Austria)
  • Alize Hugozon (Sweden)
  • Jan Beugelaar (Netherlands)

Control Commission:

  • Aldo Perez (Austria)
  • Pedro Mendonca (Portugal)
  • Elisabeth Garcia (Spain)