PES supports Eurobonds as a “stability and solidarity tool for the Eurozone”

PES supports Eurobonds as a “stability and solidarity tool for the  Eurozone”

PES President Sergei Stanishev stated that; “The informal summit should have marked the day that Europe turned definitively to a progressive growth agenda. If we want to restore the confidence in Europe, we need to work together on a sustainable growth agenda where every Member State counts. Eurobonds endorse this core democratic principle and are a valuable instrument to tackle the debt crisis”. He added: “Together with a European financial transaction tax and an enhancement of the European Investment Bank, they can stabilize the EU and help generate growth and new jobs”.

Referencing the debate on Greece, Mr. Stanishev emphasized that; “The European project is built on solidarity. We must therefore show our unwavering support for the Greek people and for Evangelos Venizelos’ plan for a progressive, responsible way out of the crisis. Now that Europe is finally becoming politically progressive and building momentum, Greece should not miss the opportunity”.

Hannes Swoboda, S&D Group President in the EP added: “The European Council on 28 June must be a decisive moment to give Europe a new direction based on an alternative policy agenda. An agenda of growth, investment and employment. The high unemployment rates all over Europe especially for the youth are not only unacceptable but socially unjust. Last week, the OECD confirmed our call for more growth, the need for social reforms, a strengthened ECB and more investment in education and R&D. It is our responsibility to pursue this path for an alternative way out of the crisis and support is getting stronger every day”.

The PES Leaders agreed to draft a comprehensive growth and investment plan ahead of the European Council of the 28 June.


Attendees at the PES Prime Ministers and leaders meeting 23 May 2012:
• Werner Faymann (SPÖ, Austria)
• Elio di Rupo (PS, Belgium)
• Bruno Tobback (SP.A, Belgium)
• Sergei Stanishev (BSP, Bulgaria)
• Hannes Swoboda (leader of S&D EP)
• Zoran Milanovic (SDP, Croatia)
• Yiannakis Omirou (EDEK, Cyprus)
• Bohuslav Sobotka (CSSD, Czech Republic)
• Jean-Marc Ayrault (PS, France)
• Sigmar Gabriel (SPD, Germany)
• Evangelos Venizelos (PASOK, Greece)
• Attila Mesterházy (MSZP, Hungary)
• Laszlo Kapolyi (MSZDP, Hungary)
• Eamon Gilmore (LP, Ireland)
• Pier Luigi Bersani (PD, Italy)
• Riccardo Nencini (PSI, Italy)
• Alex Bodry (LSAP, Luxembourg)
• Jean Asselborn (LSAP, Luxembourg)
• Diederik Samsom (PvdA, Netherlands)
• Alasdair McDonnell (SDLP, Northern Ireland)
• António José Seguro (PS, Portugal)
• Robert Fico (SMER-SD, Slovak Republic)
• Alfredo Pérez Rubalcaba (PSOE, Spain)
• Hannes Swoboda (S&D Group in the EP)
• Karl-Heinz Lambertz (PES Group in the CoR)
• Martin Schulz (President of the European Parliament)
• Maria Damanaki (European Commissioner)
• Zita Gurmai (PES Women President)
• Kaisa Penny (ECOSY President)
• Philip Cordery (PES General Secretary)
• Massimo D’Alema (FEPS)
• George Papandreou (PASOK & Socialist International)

See photos