New mandate is the momentum to transform Europe for the better

New mandate is the momentum to transform Europe for the better

The chair of the network, German Minister for Europe Michael Roth, expressed his ambition for real change in Europe following the European elections:

“It is up to us to put progressive principles on the European agenda. That is the only way to ensure our continent is inclusive, fair and sustainable. Our focus is addressing inequalities and promoting convergence within and between our countries. This means fair minimum wages, gender equality, affordable housing and clean public transport for all. It means promoting an ecological transition and social fairness that provide a healthy future. It means tax justice and strong democracies that defend the rule of law. These issues must be at the top of the agenda if we are to ensure a better future for everyone. With these priorities, we can transform Europe for the better.  Here once again I would like to reiterate my full support to Frans Timmermans. I believe he is the best candidate to lead this positive change in the European Commission.”

Alongside discussion on the future priorities for Europe, carbon neutrality and enlargement were also on the agenda for the GAC meeting.

Roth added:

“Accession negotiations with the Western Balkans should be opened as soon as possible. This is crucial for the future of our continent. Albania and North Macedonia have made progress and this should be recognised. The EU should not be short-sighted here, it must recognise the progress achieved and support positive change for our partners in the Balkans.”

Michael Roth also welcomed Tytti Tuppurainen, the newly appointed Finnish European Affairs Minister to the network.

The meeting was attended by:

  • Michael Roth, Minister for Europe, Germany
  • Marco Aguiriano, Secretary of State for the European Union, Spain
  • Hans Dahlgren, Minister for EU Affairs, Sweden
  • Helena Dalli, Minister for European Affairs and Equality, Malta
  • Frantisek Ruzicka, Secretary of State for European Affairs, Slovakia
  • Tytti Tuppurainen, European Affairs Minister, Finland
  • Ana Paula Zacarias, Secretary of State for European Affairs, Portugal
  • Maria Joao Rodrigues, Vice President of the S&D Group, European Parliament
  • Frazer Clarke, Deputy Secretary General of the S&D Group, European Parliament