European socialist and democrat leaders agree climate declaration

European socialist and democrat leaders agree climate declaration

The President of the Party of European Socialists, Sergei Stanishev, who co-hosted the event with the Parti Socialiste said the following at the event:

“From flooding and landslides, to heatwaves and cold spells, people in Europe are already feeling the effects of our changing climate. We know those who are less well-off are the first to feel those effects. As socialists and democrats we will not let that pass. Combatting social injustices in Europe and world-wide is our reason for being. Climate change is an additional factor that threatens our ability to do that. That is why as leaders of the the Party of European Socialists, our fight against social injustices goes hand in hand with our continuous battle against climate change.”

The leaders agreed the declaration through the Party of European Socialists. It can be found here in English, in French, in German and in Spanish.

Leaders present:

Sergei Stanishev – PES President
Jean-Christophe Cambadélis – PS France Leader, PES Vice-President
Manuel Valls – French Prime Minister
Elio Di Rupo – PS Belgium Leader
John Crombez – sp.A Belgium Leader
Nicolai Wammen – SD Denmark Political Spokesperson
Reijo Paananen – SDP Finland Secretary General
Rita Schwarzelühr-Sutter – SPD Germany Vice-Minister for Climate
Yannis Maniatis – PASOK Greece Former Minister for Energy and Environment
Joan Burton – Labour Ireland Leader, Deputy Prime Minister of Ireland
Algirdas Butkevicius – Prime Minister of Lithuania, Leader of LSDP Lithuania
Claude Haagen – Leader LSAP Luxemburg
Diederik Samsom – Leader PvdA Netherlands
Jonas Gahr Store – Leader DNA Norway
Pedro Sanchez – Leader PSOE Spain
Matilda Enrkrans – SAP Sweden, President of the Parliamentary Committee on Environment and Agriculture
Mustapha Ben Jaafar – Leader FDTL-Ettakatol Tunisia
Lisa Nandy – Labour UK, Shadow Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change
Massimo D’Alema – FEPS President
Zita Gurmai – PES Women President
Gianni Pittella – President S&D Group in the EP
Laura Slimani – YES President
Frans Timmermans – First Vice-President European Commission
Corina Cretu – European Commissioner for Regional Policy

The leaders meeting took place at Maison de la Chimie, Paris.

Photos of the meeting are available here

Twitter – follow #prog4climate